SINGAPORE, 2017, NOVEMBER 17 – Albirex Niigata FC (Singapore) were officially crowned champions of the 2017 Great Eastern-Hyundai S.League at Jalan Besar Stadium tonight after their last match of the season. They beat Geylang International FC 7-2 to cap a successful season.

Ms Tan Seck Geok, Head, Group Corporate Communications, Great Eastern Holdings Ltd and Mr Philip Beng, Group Finance Director, Komoco Holdings Pte Ltd presented the medals and cash prize of $250,000 to Albirex Niigata FC (S), while the S.League trophy was presented by Football Association of Singapore (FAS) President Mr Lim Kia Tong.

Mr Lim said: “Albirex Niigata FC (S) has been exemplary this season, consistently putting up exciting performances on the pitch. My heartiest congratulations to the team for successfully defending their title. We are also grateful to Great Eastern and Hyundai for their support of the S.League, and to the fans who joined us tonight. We look forward to yet another entertaining season next year.”

Ms Tan said: “Great Eastern is pleased to support the S.League for the ninth year. As a LIFE company, we are committed to going beyond the traditional role of an insurance company to actively empower customers and the community to live healthier and better.

“Our congratulations to all teams for making this yet another exciting season and in particular to Albirex Niigata for winning their back-to back Champions trophy. It is heartening to note that the FAS and S.League are ramping up efforts to continuously develop and promote Singapore football at all levels and through multiple platforms, This augurs well for football and all of us supporting the sport.”

Mr Teo Hock Seng, Group Managing Director of Komoco Holdings Pte Ltd, said: “Indeed, Albirex deserves high praise for winning the S.League title yet again. This is the result of a sustained flow of talent coming through the ranks — a sterling professional effort that will motivate others in the league to move ahead likewise.”

Full-Time Score:
Geylang International FC: 2
(Shahfiq Ghani 45′ PEN, Yuki Ichikawa 79′)
Albirex Niigata FC (S): 7
(Kento Nagasaki 14′, 67′, Hiroyoshi Kamata 29′, Tsubasa Sano 32′, 44′, 60′, Yasutaka Yanagi 74′)

Great Eastern-Hyundai S.League 2017
Champions: Albirex Niigata FC (Singapore)
First Runner-up: Tampines Rovers FC
Second Runner-up: Home United FC

Founder and photographer of Playmaker.

Got Something To Say: