JOHOR BAHRU, 2022, APRIL 10 – Johor Darul Ta’zim FC (JDT) extended their winning run to four league games after defeating Terengganu FC (TFC) 2-1 in the Super League fixture at the Sultan Ibrahim Stadium a while ago.

Brazilian striker Bérgson da Silva‘s first-half brace was enough to secure the win for Benjamin Mora’s men despite Terangganu’s equaliser by Kpah Sherman minutes before the eventual match winner.

The Southern Tigers did not have to wait long for the opening goal as Bérgson headed La’Vere Corbin-Ong‘s cross past the goalkeeper, Muhammad Rahadiazli Rahalim in the sixth minute.

Stunned by the early goal, Nafuzi Zain-led squad pick up their pace to hunt for an equaliser when Sherman tried to respond in the ninth minute only for the shot to go wide to the right of JDT’s goal.

After keeping three consecutive clean sheets, JDT goalkeeper Farizal Marlias was finally beaten by Sherman’s 30th minute equaliser as the Liberian pounced on Manuel Ott‘s shot rebound.

But JDT reclaimed the lead two minutes later when Bérgson headed the ball past Muhammad Rahadiazli once again, assisted by Ariff Aiman Hanapi‘s cross on the right of the box.

Unfortunate for the visitors who should have been able to equalise in the 40th minute with Farizal beaten, only for Sherman’s shot to be denied by the crossbar.

Continuing the momentum into the second half, Bérgson almost bagged a hat-trick in the 55th minute after receiving Ariff Aiman’s pass, but the Brazilian shot was palmed away by Rahadiazli.

In an attempt to block Syafiq Ismail‘s pass to Sherman inside the penalty area, defender Shane Lowry clashed with goalkeeper Farizal and had to be carried off due to injury.

Despite the home team’s efforts to add more goals, Bérgson’s failed to convert his chances and the score maintained at 2-1 to the Southern Tigers squad till the final whistle.

JDT’s head coach Benjamin Mora provided a slight update on Farizal Marlias’ injury in the post match press conference.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Playmaker (@playmaker_sg)


Starting Lineup: 1. Farizal Marlias (26. Haziq Nadzli 65′), 2. Matthew Davies, 23. Carli de Murga (32. Shahrul Saad 85′), 14. Shane Lowry, La’Vere Corbin Ong, 30. Natxo Insa, 10. Leandro Velázquez (21. Nazmi Faiz 85′), 8. Safiq Rahim (4. Afiq Fazail 65′), 42. Arif Aiman, 9. Bérgson da Silva, 45. Fernando Forestieri (11. Safawi Rasid 76′)
Unused Substitutes: 7. Aidil Zafuan, 6. Nathaniel Shio Hong Wan, 17. Ramadhan Saifullah, 91. Syahmi Safari

Starting Lineup: 1. Rahadiazli Rahalim, 27. Azarul Nazarith (6. Azam Azmi 73′), 26. Argzim Redzovic, 5. Shahrul Nizam Ros Hasni, 2. Arif Fadzilah (22. Hairiey Hakim Mamat 73′), 10. Habeeb Haroun, 11. Petrus Shitembi, 8. Manuel Ott, 7. Faisal Halim, 9. Kpah Sherman, 16. Hakimi Abdullah (19. Syafiq Ismail 58′)
Unused Substitutes: 38. Suhaimi Husin, 4. Adib Zainudin, 30. Zuasyraf Zulkiefle, 18. Azalinullah Alias, 33. Nik Akif, 29. Engku Nur Shakir,

Johor Darul Ta’zim: Bérgson da Silva (6′, 33′)
Terengganu: Kpah Sherman (31′)

Founder and photographer of Playmaker.

Got Something To Say: